Tags

, , , , , ,

Life is an incredible thing.  Right when you think you’re living a fairy tale, the Evil Queen feeds you the poisoned apple.  On the other hand when you think things can’t get any worse, they usually don’t – something quite enchanting can happen to make you realize the important things in life.  Every day life comes at us and it’s our job to make the most out of it.  Yes, even with the Evil Queen lurking in the background, I believe that we have tremendous control over our own destiny.  I believe that positive attitudes help us make the best of every situation allowing us to attract positive people and experiences.  Yes, sometimes things suck but they’re usually isolated instances in an otherwise glorious existence.  The last couple of years have been particularly hard on my family, a close-knit group where there is no fighting and backstabbing – just loving support for one another.  Yet the inevitable is happening, we’ve been struck with several devastating illnesses and deaths.  After a recent happy occasion I sat down and cried because there is so much to miss yet so much to remember.  During the difficulty and pain there have been new ones born and couples joined in marriage.  Much laughter along with the tears.  I once heard a cynic say “we’re born to begin the journey toward death.”  I’d rather look at it as we’re born to make a difference in this world.  People have made the wrong assumptions about me, excluded me or even disagreed with me.  I don’t want to be afraid to take a stand because I don’t know how someone else will view my opinion.  I want to dance my way through the fears to do the right thing.  Let them say what they will and do what they want.  Let the bad come at us.  Let’s push through the pain and know that we’re here to do the right thing, the good thing, the sometimes excruciating thing and bite into the poisoned apple to become the hero in the fairy tale of life.

