Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

ImageIt all started with a baby.

A baby that was too quiet.

A baby that was too still.

Please stir. Inhale. Exhale. Breathe!

I remember getting very close to my daughter when she was a newborn fearful because she was sleeping so peacefully for too long. I didn’t want to disturb her if she was just sleeping but I needed a sign that she was breathing. A pulse at her temple, movement in her chest or the faintest twitch so I could relax and let her continue with her slumber.

There was that one time. Something made me check her and she was blue. I jerked her up and she immediately awoke and began breathing and we both cried. After rushing her to a hospital where I continued to cry for three days, it’s was finally diagnosed as Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) and we were sent home with a monitor. It would go off occasionally, especially during the night and I would always rush in total fear to her room where the loud screech of the monitor would always stir her awake and back to breathing. That was 27 years ago.

I’m still checking pulses and breaths. First of my father who died a few years ago and then last year with an aunt who was diagnosed and succumbed quickly to cancer. I spent a great deal of time with her and her daughter in the end and my cousin and I would frequently get close to her and look for signs of her breathing.

Then there was the economy and our business. We were looking for signs of the economy inhaling and exhaling. It wasn’t the peaceful hard to see breathing of a healthy baby, it was the shallow breathing of death. Businesses were the brain and people were the heart that needed that breathing to survive.  Likewise the economy needed businesses and people to thrive.  Every day we check to make sure it’s alive. And it’s not just our own jobs; it’s every business we support, shop and use. We wondered if we would all be okay.  We saw a few breaths last year and were hopeful but for many companies it was too shallow, too late. They hung on as long as they could but couldn’t survive.

But now I see more life. We’re fighting back, fighting to breathe and move on.

The same exists for 2balance. I’ve continued to watch her pattern of breathing. Watching for her to inhale and exhale. There are too many people depending on her to live. A team and their families, clients and vendors, partners and friends.  And just like my daughter many years ago, her breathing is getting stronger and steadier. We made difficult decisions, cut back on expenses (and shoes), and even terminated relationships with clients that could suffocate us. The color of pink is returning to her cheeks.  I’m thankful to our team, families, friends and the wonderful roster of clients for which we’re so very blessed to be working with.

And what caused me to write this at 2:45 in the morning?  I awoke to a very quiet bed. No snoring to the right of me. No giggles (yes, he giggles in his sleep), and no sounds of breathing. I get close and listen for signs of breathing.

Please stir.  Inhale.  Exhale.  Breathe!

I gently stroke his arm and he stirs.  All is well, maybe I can now rest.

Sweet dreams. ~Sheri

